Skip to main content
header logo

Click to go to YouTube Click to go to facebook click to go to twitter

 PBL Community Center Design
Southern Cayuga CSD seventh grade students enrolled in Timothy Amory and Leigh Mills’ Art/Writing project based learning course recently completed an intensive seven week project.   They surveyed various stakeholders in the community, researched examples, read articles, and learned from various guest speakers, including Pam Hamel, an architect with Tetra Tech Architects & Engineers.
Class schedules were modified to 80 minute blocks every other day, with Art/ELA alternating with a Science/Math block. From a facility perspective they utilized their studio art room with attached computer design lab allowing for a variety of work group options.
In teams (design firms), the students had to select site locations, identify a program and design a community center that would fit the needs of the area. They then created a 3 dimensional model using Sketch Up and penned written proposals explaining their rationale, program offerings, and funding options. The culminating event was for the teams to design and deliver presentations of their project to a selection panel. Judges, acting as the potential “client” consisted of teachers Dan Holden and Peter Bakija, as well as Mrs. Hamel, and Luke Carnicelli, the school’s principal.
The results were comprehensive, creative and varied. The top 3 selections for Excellence in Design, Concept and Craftsmanship were based not only on the final product but efforts throughout the project. Congratulations to the following!
  •  1st   – HCCI Design: Catie Kopp, Hunter Nasholts, Ismael Montalvo, Crystal Vernon
  •  2nd – J J&R Design: Johnny Groth, Riky Pearson, Jenn O’Neil
  •  3rd – Genoa Community Center: Molly Walter, Jonathan DeBois, Cheyanne Hendrikson
Certificates of Merit:
  • Meaningful Connection to the Environment – SC Structures: Collin Rejman, Sydney Hasenjager, Siara Prince
  • Most Developed Outdoor Activities – Poplar Ridge Community Center: Nate Branch, Genna Sheehy, Jacob Starr, Cassidy Mosher
  • Excellent Use of Compassion as design element – Dakotas Green Land: Dakota Green
  • Development of Meaningful Programs – Southern Cayuga Community Center: Nick Ashcraft, Conner Bennett, Amanda Doyle
  • Innovation and Adaptability – Killer Jump Design: Daisy Stebbins, Keith Wasleff, Jordan Schillawski
  • Most Improved Presentation – Sam Chase Design: Sam Vreeland, Chase Marshall
  • Effective Use of technology in the Program – Kyles Large Lodges: Kyle Bailey, Logan Smith, Lauren Sherman
  • Unique, innovative Design – Higher New Stunts Design: Hunter Nasholts, Scarlett Lonsky, Nate Hetherington
  • Attention to Detail in Design – GMB Design: Brett Jillson, Merrissa Harrison, George Rafferty
  • Exceptional Collaborative Effort – AJ Design: Angel Montalvo, Jushtin Silva
  • Effective Problem Solving – Total Design Elements: Beth Hebberd, Brianna Youtt, Troy Tratt
footer logo

Patrick Jensen, Superintendent
2384 State Route 34B
Aurora, NY 13026

Phone: 315.364.7211
Fax: 315.364.7863